How to spell cinnamon

Sometimes I shop for groceries at a small ethnic grocery store one block from my home. One time I came across a container of cinnamon–only the label spelled it “cimonin.” I would love to hear the story behind that one. I guess the owner of that company was working on the label, and he thought, “Um. I’m not sure how to spell this word. Should I look it up in a dictionary? No. That’s not my style. I’ll just put down C-I-M-O-N-I-N. That’s probably about 50% right. That’s all people demand out of the food they buy. Semi-correct spelling. I mean, that’s why people buy stuff like Korne Flayksss and Or Gannick Lo Faat Millck.”

Leave a Reply

